Books on My Post-Conference “To Buy” List

Leave a comment

This is my final post about Saturday’s Horn Book at Simmons conference, but today I ordered the books I heard about during the program- if they weren’t on Inly’s shelves already.  Here’s what the UPS truck will be delivering next week:

Madlenka Soccer Star by Peter Sis – There is always a demand for stories about soccer, and everything Sis writes (and illustrates in his distinctive style) has a reserved spot on our shelves. We already have the first two stories about Madlenka, but this one will be especially popular with our soccer crazy students.

I Know Here by Laurel Croza and Matt James – This book was already on my list, but after hearing the author and illustrator speak, I couldn’t wait to share it with our students.  It’s a story about a girl leaving her home in Saskatchewan and moving to Toronto, and the illustrations of her life in Saskatchewan make the reader “feel” this girl’s life in a remote part of Canada.  I Know Here won first prize in the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award picture book category.

There’s Going to Be a Baby by John Burningham and Helen Oxenbury – I’ve been looking forward to a collaboration between two of England’s most honored and beloved children’s book creators. This is a beautiful “old-fashioned-feeling” book about the excitement a little boy feels about having a new sibling.

Most of the award winners and featured books were already on our shelves.  Of course, I purchase everything by Elizabeth Partridge, and I was happy to hear her talk about her novel that will be published in the spring – Dog Tag Summer.  It’s the first book on my 2011 list…

Leave a Reply

