I Couldn’t Wait…

2 Comments

 

Among the fall releases, the two new books I was most looking forward to were Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom and Paul Murray’s Skippy Dies.  Both have received glowing reviews and I’ve listened to countless interviews with Franzen.  I told myself in August that I have plenty to read and would wait for both books to be published in paperback.  I listed the reasons to wait: I did not need to spend the money on two hardcovers, there are many unread books on my shelves, there are papers to grade, and middle school novels to re-read for class discussions. 

I was in a bookstore today and left with both books.  To be honest, I knew what was going to happen as soon as I saw them both on the bookstore’s new fiction display table.  No regrets – only excitement.  I can’t wait to read them!

2 thoughts on “I Couldn’t Wait…

Leave a Reply

