Books on My Own Summer Reading List

Leave a comment

Rather than recommend books I know and love today, I’m listing books that outside of what I’ve read in reviews, I don’t know much about.  That’s because I haven’t read them yet.  This is what I hope to read this summer – 5 adult novels and 5 young adult novels, and not one vampire on the list!  I may not get to all of them, but a perfect summer reading plan would include all ten of these books.  The deck is open, the Diet Coke is cold, here we go…

Young Adult:

Ashes by Kathryn Lasky

Nation by Terry Pratchett

Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco Stork

Countdown by Deborah Wiles

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Adult:

The Irresistible Henry House by Lisa Grunwald

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

Day for Night by Frederick Reiken

The Lotus Eaters by Tatjana Soli

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Judging from the stellar reviews these books have received, I’m in for a great summer.  Currently I’m about half-way through Terry Pratchett’s novel, Nation, the 2009 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner.  Exciting and thought provoking, it is the perfect book for a middle school class or book group.

Leave a Reply

