Great Books to Share with Dad!

2 Comments

As I write this, there are two fathers sleeping upstairs, one is my own visiting from Ohio and the other is my husband, my son’s father.   When my son wakes up, we will sign our cards and organize our gifts – new books, of course!  Until then, I will share some ideas for picture books featuring fathers that are perfect to share with dad today – or any other day.

The Very Best Father of All by Marion Dane Bauer (A beautiful celebration of nature, animals and dad all in one.)

My Dad by Anthony Browne (I love this quirky tribute to dad by one of my favorite authors.  It’s told from the perspective of a child looking at their father, and the child’s heroic view compared with his “regular” dad are quite funny.)

Father Bear Comes Home by Else Holmelund Minarik  (This early-reader is a good choice for a child who wants to read to dad.)

Henry and Mudge and the Long Weekend by Cynthia Rylant  (This one has always been my favorite Henry and Mudge book.  We read it to my son countless times as he grew up, and still make references to it.)

Every Friday by Dan Yaccarino (Yaccarino’s retro-looking book is about a regular Friday walk through the city a young boy takes with his dad.)

2 thoughts on “Great Books to Share with Dad!

  1. Shelley- I so enjoyed catching up with you and am thrilled to have found your book blog. I’m off to the library to sign up for a new card…

Leave a Reply

