Three for Thursday

1 Comment

My dad is visiting from Ohio this week so grandparents are on my mind.  It’s a strange transformation to see your parent become your child’s grandparent.  When I hear my dad telling my son some of the same stories I heard as a child, it makes me happy.  It’s almost like my son is “joining a club.”  Not that he wasn’t a member from the moment he was born, but this is different.  He’s learning about his family and incorporating my dad’s story into his own.  When my dad is visiting, I understand the idea of a sandwich generation in a much more tangible way.  You see where you’ve come from and where you may someday be yourself. 

There are so many good picture books about grandparents.  I was only limited by the fact that it’s Thursday.  These three books came to mind immediately.  They are warm and funny stories about the bonds between grandparents and their grandchildren.  

Tom by Tomie dePaola

The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster

Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells

One thought on “Three for Thursday

Leave a Reply

