It’s Book Fair Time!

Leave a comment

Today is Day 2 of the Inly Spring Book Fair.  I’m glad to report that we are busy and the old technology (the book) is selling briskly. This is when I am at my most “anthropological.”  I love watching kids selecting books to purchase – a very different transaction than borrowing books for a school assignment.  This one involves negotiations with parents and discussions with friends.

I have the privilege of working with kids who are not only excited about reading, but have many books of their own.  When they visit the book fair, they are most eager to see new installments in their favorite series.  My very unscientific study suggests that these books are quite popular for 1st through 3rd grade readers:

Mercy Watson: Something Wonky This Way Comes by Kate DiCamillo

Clementine’s Letter by Sara Pennypacker

Stink: Solar System Superhero by Megan McDonald

For the older kids, there is no contest.  They continue to make a beeline for Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.  Of course, there are many other titles being sold, and I continue to push a few personal favorites (like Waiting for Normal by Leslie Connor).  The book fair always makes me happy.  I love “playing store” and talking about my absolute favorite subject all day long!

Leave a Reply

