Pond Life in the Front Yard

1 Comment

I stepped outside this morning expecting to see ducks.  Really.  It’s happened before, but although there is a new ecosystem in the front yard, the ducks have yet to discover it.  Like many of our neighbors, our front yard is now a pond.  According to the guy on the radio, the last time we had this much rain during the month of March was in 1952.  I heard school closings being announced, and it  occurred to me that this is the first time I’ve heard of school’s closing because of too much rain.

There are now ponds in all sorts of new places –  in basements, in the middle of the street, and in front yards.  All of this brought to mind Denise Fleming’s colorful and lively book, In the Small, Small Pond. I’m going to read it to our youngest students today since they can now observe tadpoles and other pond life from the comfort of their own homes.

The only good thing that happened yesterday was that the University of Dayton won their game against Ole’ Miss – and are now in the finals of the NIT.  They play UNC on Thursday night.  Stay tuned…

One thought on “Pond Life in the Front Yard

  1. Hi there! I’m really grateful I found your post! I love absorbing new information.
    But I don’t generally have time and energy to read books or long articles.
    So I often shop around a lot for wonderful quotes.
    These quotes permit me to take in a great deal of wisdom in a short amount of
    time. I have started out a quotes site devoted to acquiring the greatest quotes.

    You’ll find the best quotes on love and also the
    best quotes about life. My personal favorites are inspiring quotes that encourage, influence,
    and drive you to live your dreams!

Leave a Reply

