In Like a Lion…

Leave a comment

I just checked a few on-line lists of the U.S.A.’s windiest cities, and Boston was, not surprisingly, on each of them.  Not Chicago, “the windy city,” but Boston, and special mention was even given to a part of Boston called Blue Hill which is not too far from where I live.  None of this surprised me at all. Living and working near the ocean has its pleasures to be sure, but the wind can be a bit relentless at times.

Every March, along with the St. Patrick’s Day books (this is Boston!), I display picture books about windy days.  Today, there was good news and bad news on the windy books front.  The good news is that I read on Amazon about a new book, Flora’s Very Windy Day, which is being published in August.  It promises to be excellent given that its author is Jeanne Birdsall (The Penderwicks) and it’s illustrated by an artist from whom I would buy his illustrated grocery list, Matt Phelan (The Storm in the Barn). Of course, this one went right into the shopping basket.

On the other hand, I was disappointed to see that one of my favorite windy day books is out of print – The Windy Day by G. Brian Karas, another illustrator that I’d follow anywhere.  We have this one in our library and, of course, you could purchase a used copy, but I am sad that Karas’ book is no longer available.  Here are a few other favorites about wind:

Like a Windy Day by Frank Asch

The Wind Blew by Pat Hutchins

One Windy Wednesday by Phyllis Root and illustrated by Helen Craig

Leave a Reply

