Boston by the Books

2 Comments

I was asked to do one of my favorite things yesterday – put together a basket of children’s books on one theme.  This one is for a conference taking place in Boston next month, and so I decided that the winner of the raffle might enjoy going home with books about the Hub of the Universe.  This is what I put in the basket:

Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes – This is the first book I thought of…no collection of books about Boston is complete without this revolutionary-war novel

Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey – What is there to say?   I looked at it last night and was charmed all over again by the Michael (the police officer) stopping traffic so that Mrs. Mallard and her ducklings can cross the street.

You Can’t Take a Balloon into the Museum of Fine Arts by Jacqueline Preiss Weitzman – I chose this (and the next) book for the lively pictures of Boston.  This one serves as a tour of Boston and an introduction to works of art like Copley’s iconic portrait of Paul Revere.

Journey Around Boston From A to Z by Martha Zschock – Another charming tour of Boston.

Beneath the Streets of Boston: Building America’s First Subway by Joe McKendry – This is a fascinating look at America’s oldest underground system.

The Brothers Kennedy by Kathleen Krull – This is a brand new book by the prolific and talented Kathleen Krull.  I like its emphasis on all three Kennedy brothers and its inspirational message.

No Easy Way: The Story of Ted Williams and the Last .400 Season by Fred Bowen – This is also a new book.  I certainly didn’t want to send our visitors back home without a book about one of Red Sox Nation’s stars!

2 thoughts on “Boston by the Books

  1. I saw you included my sister’s book, Journey Around Boston in your list…thank you! I’ll be sure to let her know, she’ll be honored! Have you seen her book for toddlers, Hello Boston? It’s really cute!

Leave a Reply

