Brookline’s Gem

Leave a comment

I visited The Children’s Book Shop in Brookline yesterday.  It had been awhile since my last visit, and as soon as I walked in the door, I was reminded how wonderful it is.  As an independent children’s bookstore, they do not have the pressure to put Disney titles on display.  The store is full of really good books for kids, not titles that are driven by a media promotion.  As I perused the shelves writing down a few ideas for the Inly School Library, I listened to a conversation two young boys were having with their mother about which books to buy.  They were clearly avid readers, and with the help of the store’s owner, Terri Schmitz, they were in good hands making their selections.

I purchased a signed copy of The Giver which is already on the special shelf in my bedroom.  I have lots of paperback copies floating around, but there is something about owning one signed by Lois Lowry that makes me happy.

The next time you’re in Brookline Village, make sure you pay a visit to one of the area’s best bookstores.

Leave a Reply

