Why I Love My Job

3 Comments

I love working with kids and books.  Sometimes, I’ll be in a conversation with a student about a book and it will occur to me that “this” is my job, and I feel like the luckiest person in the whole world.  There was a moment this past week when I had that feeling.

I was talking with a group of sixth-grade students about The View from Saturday, a novel by E.L. Konigsburg.  My students had finished reading it, and they were talking about how all of the book’s pieces fit together.  They were so excited that they were talking over each other in a mad rush to get it all out!

It occurred to me that the joy they were experiencing came from nothing more than words on a page.  I’ve pictured the looks on their faces all week and know it will be one of those treasured memories I “replay” many times during the years ahead.

3 thoughts on “Why I Love My Job

  1. I loved being in that class and reading A View From Saturday with you and my classmates. I remember discussions in class and getting so excited about this book and Journey to an 800 Number. Both are great books! Thanks Shelley!

    • Thanks for your comment, Lucy. That’s the best part of lit discussion groups. It’s like we have a book club with our friends that meets twice a week!

Leave a Reply

