It Won! It Won!

2 Comments

I just checked the date.  It was on August 4 that I e-mailed several of my favorite readers to suggest that they read When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.   And today it won the Newbery Medal!  I am very happy and not one bit surprised.  As I said to my friends way back in August, Stead’s book is hard to describe.  It’s a mystery.  It’s realistic.  It has an element of the fantastic—see what I mean?  Hard to pigeonhole.  But now no book seller has to decide where to shelve it.  It goes on the shelf for Newbery winners!

2 thoughts on “It Won! It Won!

  1. I really enjoyed this book. I am not a big fantasy fan, but this book had just the right amount of all the genres. This book was very interesting and it had a bit of mystery in it so it was hard to put it down.

    • Thanks for posting a comment, Grace. I agree that it was hard to put down. I actually liked it more the second time I read it! All of the puzzle pieces came together more smoothly because I could watch for clues along the way.

Leave a Reply

