Today I Will…add a new post

2 Comments

SpinelliI was initially skeptical about Eileen and Jerry Spinelli’s new book, Today I Will: A Year of Quotes, Notes, and Promises to Myself.  I have a knee jerk (and often unfair) reaction to any book that could be shelved in the Self Help section of the store.

I was drawn to this book based solely on the authors’ good names.  And the truth of the matter is that I ended up buying it to use at school.  Yes, it is designed to be inspirational—a quality that usually sends me running.  But I also knew that when I was 12, this book would have been on my nightstand.

The book is designed so that each day of the year has its own page featuring a quote from a children’s book  followed by friendly advice.  I bought the book because in my line of work (school librarian and literature teacher), I can always use good quotes from children’s books and I could see myself reaching for this book to begin a class.

I should probably read the entry for May 11 every so often: “Minds, like diapers, need occasional changing.”  In case you are wondering, that quote comes from The Ballad of Lucy Whipple by Karen Cushman.

2 thoughts on “Today I Will…add a new post

  1. Love, love, love this special little book. It offers young readers a beacon of comfort, wisdom and inspiration in a culture that often doesn’t. Nicely designed, too.

    • Thanks for your comment Julie. I just pulled this book again recently to put it in my “back to school” pile.

Leave a Reply

