New York State of Mind

1 Comment

KonigsburgI just returned from spending a wonderful weekend in New York City, and then this morning, when I turned my radio on, Billy Joel was singing “A New York State of Mind.”

That explains today’s post which will feature my very favorite children’s stories that take place in the Big Apple.  Some old and some new—but all delightful.   I should add that this a very personalized list; there are hundreds of books to choose from, but  if I were pressed to name my ten favorites, they would be:

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg (hardly an original choice, but since I was at the Metropolitan Museum of Art on Sunday, this book comes immediately to mind)

This is New York by Miroslav Sasek

Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile by Bernard Waber

Pale Male: Citizen Hawk of New York City by Janet Schulman

Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale by Mo Willems

All-of-a-Kind Family by Sydney Taylor

Stuart Little by E.B. White

The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge by Hildegarde H. Swift

Dave at Night by Gail Carson Levine

The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins by Barbara Kerley

One thought on “New York State of Mind

  1. Hi Shelley!

    We love your new blog! Thanks, Ricky, for consulting on this one!

    Regarding NYC books, I recently met the illustrator of The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins, Brian Selznick. I absolutely love his work! He was a speaker at the Literary Lights for Children event at the Boston Public Library last month. (I was there for one of my students who introduced another famous writer, Katherine Paterson.) Dinosaurs is amazing, but my favorite is still his Walt Whitman book. Selznick is quite a character – funny, down-to-earth, but NYCish too…he was wearing shiny silver cowboy boots!

Leave a Reply

